Board of Directors

The Executive Committee and the Board of Directors of AzHREF are responsible for ensuring that the organization is upholding its purpose and mission which includes creating a community of professionals leading their organizations. Our responsibilities include: 

Coordinate 6 to 9 HR Forums with strategic, pertinent topics

Coordinate (1) annual signature event with a tier one national speaker.

Attend value-add forums through:

  • lunch and learns,

  • webinars,

  • or other topic-specific networking and resource sharing events.

Maintain and improve membership of senior HR practitioners, and increase active participation.

Designate and support committees and ensure committee outcomes are aligned with Board objectives.

Serve as HRPS National liaison, fostering the brand and leveraging national and local resources.

Work with committees to ensure appropriate level of sponsorship engagement and financial support.

Serve as Community Outreach champion to brand HRPS and AzHREF in the local and national HR industry, from welcoming members and guests at events to media, branding, fundraising and outreach opportunities.

Ensure AzHREF remains fiscally sound, utilizing the board to audit financials and budget appropriate funds.

With Board approval, contract and manage consultant relationships, including administrative function, to ensure appropriate direction, scope and outcomes.

President

Joe Carella
Eller College of Management/UofA
e-mail: carella@email.arizona.edu

Past President

Mary G Henry
HR on Demand LLC
e-mail: mary@hrondemandllc.com

Secretary/Treasurer

Ted A. Smith, III
Fahrenheit Advisors
e-mail: ted.smith752@gmail.com

Director of Marketing

Miles Overholt
Strategia Analytics
e-mail: miles@drmilesoverholt.com

Director of Membership

Donna Dietrich
AZ Tech Finders
e-mail: donna@aztechfinders.com

Director of Partnerships

Ben Tobin
Brown & Brown Insurance of Phoenix
e-mail: btobin@bbphoenix.com

Co-Director of Programs

Joan Hibdon
jdhInsights
e-mail: joan@jdhinsights.com

Director

Emilie Grombacher, 8249149
NAGRA Kudelski
e-mail: emilie.grombacher@gmail.com

Director

Allie Perez Gehm
Subrosa
e-mail: agehm@subrosapi.com

Director

Kristy Peters
Littler
e-mail: kpeters@littler.com

Director

Julie Phillips
Bryan University
e-mail: julie.phillips@bryanuniversity.edu

Director

Wade Thomas
Aim to Win, LLC
e-mail: wthomas3002@gmail.com

Director

Therese Valadez
Dignity Health
e-mail: therese.valadez@dignityhealth.org

Director

Angie Walker
Northcentral University
e-mail: awalker@ncu.edu